Hello world!

So blogging…. not exactly something I saw myself doing, but as time continues, I’m becoming more and more open to the idea.

The feeling of having an actual voice in the world, not just your community, is quite inspiring. With the world as it is today there is always something you want to say, a problem you want to fix, someone you wish to encourage, and this blog may be a way to do that.

In order for me to make a true contribution (no matter how small it may be), I’ve decided to focus my blog on the two things I know best: dance and children. I have been part of the dance community since 1994, and through the years, have learned quite a lot about it. My journey began in a Pre-School in a ballet class, then transferred into a competitive program, remained there for 14 years, and has now led me to teaching.

The life of a teacher is much different than that of a student, but I find myself enjoying it much more. The feelings of accomplishment and pride you receive when your student masters a new skill or wins an overall title is irreplaceable. I have been lucky, for my first few years of teaching have been filled with many blessing. I have been given to the privilege of working with many Pre-School students (who are just too cute for words), the petite competitive students (my “munchkins”), and the many talented dancers in the junior competitive program. Every child, and in some cases, their parents, have touched a place in my heart and have taught me something new. I’m hoping that through this blog, I can share the lessons I’ve learned, give a voice to the children that don’t always have one, and talk about the discipline of dance and the positive affects it can have in one’s life. I know that dance has shaped me into the person I am, and I can’t even imagine who I would have become without it.

~ by camccain on September 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
